Sanguinary Guard

One one my favourite models, hands down.  Games Workshop out-did themselves with these babies!  They were simple and easy to put together, but painting them was another thing..   Just to get the gold to look the way I liked it took forever and many, many layers.  I started with a white primer, then a layer of thin Bubonic Brown, then another thin layer of Bubonic Brown.  The reason was that the brown was already a thin paint to begin with and you could see the white primer and any paint brush strokes if it was applied too thin.  After I’m satisfied with the brown I moved on to gold, applying a thin layer of Shining Gold over the brown and then (you guessed it) another layer of Shining Gold.  Like the brown, the gold too was thin enough to see the brown beneath and any brush strokes from the brown and/or gold.  After the whole model was to my satisfaction I used Devlan Mud to wash it.  The wash took out the shine and gave the armour life.  However, I wanted it to be shiny still so I added another thin layer of Shining Gold, but this time only one layer; I actually wanted to see the layer beneath.

 

 

~ by NJDaniels on February 24, 2011.

Leave a comment